Last night the eight designer-homeowner finalist pairs of the Caesarstone Kitchen of the Year competition were announced, putting them in the running to be crowned the overall winner. Take a look at their innovative designs.

The top eight Caeasarstone Kitchen of the Year finalists were chosen last night from 127 entries in a blind judging process. The panel of judges included Bradley van den Berg, executive producer of The Expresso Morning Show; Mor Krisher, head of product design at Caesarstone International; celebrity chef Reuben Riffel; Beth Haynes, two-time winner of previous Caesarstone Kitchen Designer competitions; and our very own Bielle Bellingham, editor of DECO.

“The judges have absolutely no idea who designed or owns each kitchen entered,” says Caesarstone South Africa’s advertising manager, Lisa Aspeling.

The entries featured kitchens from all over SA that made use of Caesarstone surfaces that have been installed in the past 18 months. Entries were sent in as photographs and plans with only a corresponding number given to each. From these, the top eight were chosen and they now stand in line to win two R50 000 cash prizes.

The next round sees the judges selecting the top three kitchens, via video footage of each finalist. These top three finalists will then be invited to the Caesarstone Kitchen of the Year awards ceremony at Tokara Wine Estate in Stellenbosch, where the winner will be announced. The overall homeowner-designer pair take home R50 000 each, while a KitchenAid hamper goes to each of the top three.

“Caesarstone is proud to be sponsoring the competition and helping to support local kitchen design excellence,” says Caesarstone South Africa marketing director, Trevor King.


The top eight Kitchen of the Year finalists are:

1. Albert and Natalie Wessels, with designer Tamara Karstens from Spotlight Kitchens



2. Andrea Neer and Mariaan van Zyl from Espresso Design



3. Mampho Majola with designer Shiku Kiarri from Sterlings



4. Tom Creamer with designer Adolf Conradie from Optima Kitchens



5. Christo and Irene De Wett with designer Adolf Conradie from Optima Kitchens



6. Clive Shiller with designer Charlotte van der Haer from Kitchen Classics



7. Priya Naicker with designer Kim Hansen from Kitchen Classics



8. Diane Heron with designer Lyall Wilcox from Bristle et Hues



Congratulations to the top eight finalists and good luck for the next round of judging!



The Caesarstone Kitchen of the Year competition will be broadcast on The Home Channel from 21 September. Each finalist kitchen will be shown in depth and the awards ceremony will be broadcast at the end of the series.

For more info visit

Images Supplied